I feel particularly spoiled due to my proximity to Chinatown’s incredible cheap and amazing ingredients but I need to be diligent when checking the labels to make sure I avoid wheat, eggs, dairy, and as much canola as possible. Tonight I spoiled myself with an organic wheat-free tamari (normally I try to avoid soy completely) and a wheat-free fish sauce in hot plate of pineapple fried rice. Although Yamasa’s organic wheat-free tamari is available in several Chinatown grocers, I had to venture to a health food store for wheat-free fish sauce.
If you’re out for Vietnamese or Thai food, make sure you ask them to hold the fish sauce, since chances are they use one of the more popular brands like Three Crabs or Phu Quoc which both contain wheat. If trace amounts is all it takes, it’s better to play it safe.